The Championships, which are being held in Doha, Qatar, will be broadcast each day at 12 PM GMT.

The 2016 World Rapid and Blitz Championships start Monday in Doha, the capital of Qatar. The games will be broadcast free live on World Chess starting at 3 PM local time (12 PM GMT). UPDATE: The broadcast can be launched be clicking on the window at the top right of the main page of World Chess​.

The Rapid Championship will be Monday, Dec. 26, to Wednesday, Dec. 28, and the Blitz Championship from Thursday, Dec. 29, to Friday, Dec. 30. The rapid event will be 15 rounds, with a time control of 15 minutes per player per game, with 10 seconds added after each move. The blitz tournament will be 21 rounds at a time control of three minutes per game with two seconds added to each player’s time after each move. 

Each tournament has a prize fund of $200,000, with $40,000 for first place. 

The Championships are open to any players who have had a rating in classical, rapid or blitz chess of above 2500 at any time during 2016. Magnus Carlsen of Norway and Alexander Grischuk of Russia, the defending champions at rapid and blitz, respectively, will be playing to try to defend their titles.

Among the other top players competing are Maxime Vachier-Lagrave of France, Levon Aronian of Armenia, Sergey Karjakin and Ian Nepomniachtchi of Russia, Viswanathan Anand of India, Hikaru Nakamura of the United States, and Shakhriyar Mamedyarov Azerbaijan.